Skip to main content

Mid-Missouri Solid Waste Management District

Overview of MMSWMD

The Mid-Missouri Solid Waste Management District (MMSWMD) or District “H” was established in December of 1991, as provided for in the Solid Waste Management Law R.S.Mo. 260.100 – 260.345.  Originally it contained seven member counties, Audrain, Boone, Callaway, Cooper, Howard, Moniteau, and Osage Counties with Miller and Cole choosing not to join. Miller County eventually joined District T, and Cole County joined District H.

The 20 solid waste management districts were created by Senate Bill 530 passed in 1990. The districts are funded by a tipping fee currently set at $2.11 per ton of refuse brought to a landfill in Missouri, or to a transfer station in Missouri if the eventual destination is a landfill out of state. The fee at construction and demolition landfills is $1.41. The fee is distributed to districts using a formula that is based on a the tipping fee revenues and population for that district. MMSWMD receives about $400,000 per year: half of which MMSWMD uses for operations and implementation of our District Plan. 

MMSWMD Strategic Planopens PDF file